President Ivanov meets European Parliament delegation

Skopje, 13 February 2013 (MIA) - President Gjorge Ivanov had separate meetings Wednesday with EP delegation which includes Jerzy Buzek (EPP, Poland), Tunne Kelam (EPP, Estonia), Miroslav Mikolasik (EPP, Slovakia) and Laszlo Tokes (EPP, Romania), as well as with members of EPP Working Group 3, led by Corien Wortman-Kool, EPP Group vice President (Netherlands).

At the meetings Ivanov and MEPs shared opinions on Macedonia's EU-integration process, key-reform progress and the European perspective in the light of the European Commission's spring report and the European Council Summit in June, the President's Cabinet said in a press release.

At both meetings Ivanov extended gratitude for the EP continuous support of Macedonia's EU-integration and commended the EPP engagement to that effect.

Macedonia's has made progress on its road to the EU membership and hence enjoys full EP support to open the accession talks, the MEPs said.

Addressing the current political developments in the country, namely the opposition boycott of the Parliament, the MEPs commended Ivanov's initiative for surpassing the situation, saying that the internal unity and functioning of state institutions in full capacity are vital for Macedonia's EU-integration process.

For four years Macedonia has been waiting an opening of the EU accession talks, something the country deserved long time ago, Ivanov told MEPs.

"If Macedonia obtained the date at the December Summit we most probably would not have to deal with the present political situation," Ivanov said. "Obviously the positive examples of simultaneous running of the EU-integration process and settling of bilateral disputes are inapplicable for the Republic of Macedonia and its citizens," he added.

Ivanov briefed the MEPs on the pace of the UN-mediated name negotiations and reaffirmed Macedonia's commitment to building good-neighborly relations and regional cooperation.

In this respect, Ivanov presented the objectives of Macedonian Chairmanship to the South East Europe Cooperation Process (SEECP), the press release reads.  

Today, MEPs also had a meeting with Parliament Speaker Trajko Veljanoski. lk/16:00




All Rights Reserved.This material may not be stored, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in any form, except with the prior express permission of Macedonian Information Agency.